Reinvent Albany • American Institute of Architects New York
Brooklyn Center for Independence of the Disabled (BCID)
Center for Independence of the Disabled NY (CIDNY) • Citizens Union of the City of New York
Common Cause NY • Environmental Advocates of New York
League of Women Voters of NYS • League of Women Voters of the City of New York
NYPIRG Straphangers Campaign • Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee to the MTA (PCAC)
Riders Alliance • StreetsPAC • TransitCenter
Transportation Alternatives • Tri-State Transportation Campaign

May 28, 2020

Governor Andrew Cuomo

VIA EMAIL

## **RE: Please Promptly Send MTA Board Nominees to Senate for Confirmation**

Dear Governor Cuomo,

We write to ask that you promptly send Mayor Bill de Blasio's nominations for the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) Board to the State Senate for a rapid vote.

Mayor de Blasio named the two nominees, Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez and Victor Calise, in February, which has provided ample time for your consideration. With these two appointments, New York City's transit riders and elected leaders will have a stronger voice on the MTA Board.

The State Senate is currently back in session until early June. It is crucial that these seats be filled while the Legislature is still in session and prior to the next meeting of the MTA Board, which is expected for late June.

We thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

John Kaehny
Executive Director
Reinvent Albany

Benjamin Prosky
Executive Director

American Institute of Architects New York

Joe Rappoport Executive Director

Brooklyn Center for Independence of the

Disabled (BCID)

Susan Dooha
Executive Director

Center for Independence of the Disabled

NY (CIDNY)

Betsy Gotbaum Executive Director

Citizens Union of the City of New York

Susan Lerner Executive Director Common Cause NY

Peter Iwanowicz
Executive Director

**Environmental Advocates of NY** 

Catherine T Gray
Co-President

League of Women Voters of the City of New

York

Laura Ladd Bierman Executive Director

League of Women Voters of NYS

Jaqi Cohen

Campaign Director

NYPIRG Straphangers Campaign

Lisa Daglian

Executive Director

Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee to

the MTA (PCAC)

Betsy Plum

Executive Director Riders Alliance

Eric McClure

**Executive Director** 

StreetsPAC

David Bragdon
Executive Director
TransitCenter

Danny Harris
Executive Director

Transportation Alternatives

Nick Sifuentes
Executive Director

Tri-State Transportation Campaign

Cc. Mayor Bill de Blasio

Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins

Senator Leroy Comrie, Chair, Corporations, Authorities and Commissions Committee

Senator Tim Kennedy, Chair, Transportation Committee

Senator Liz Krueger, Chair, Finance Committee

MTA Board