80+ Groups Ask Congress to Support the NYC Region’s Transit Agencies


Dear Members of the New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut Congressional Delegations:

Over the course of the pandemic, it has been clear how necessary our public transportation systems are to get essential workers to and from their places of employment safely and efficiently. Public transportation is the circulatory system of the New York City region and without it, the tri-state area would cease to function. Now, our agencies are in dire situations – unmatched in their histories – looking at the possibility of dramatic fare increases and service cuts, cannibalizing their capital budgets, or saddling their agencies with crushing long-term debt. That’s why we desperately need to support our agencies with more aid now.

The funding provided in the CARES Act was a critical first step, and much appreciated. But it’s clear that we did not have a full picture of the length and depth of the crisis when it was passed.

Additional federal funding for the MTA, the Port Authority, NJ Transit, and CTtransit — as part of a nationwide transit package totaling at least $32 billion — is essential to keep the region’s economy moving. As the agencies in the tri-state area serve far more riders than any other and rely on fare revenues more than any other, support for those agencies from the federal government is absolutely essential and their full asks must be met.

Additionally, it is crucial that language is included in the legislation to ensure that major bi-state entities, such as the Port Authority, be able to access funding, which is not possible via traditional transportation formulas. Their need to continue operations despite significant revenue decline also requires special attention.

Finally, we strongly urge Congress to pass legislation with this funding prior to the August recess, so that these transit agencies can move forward on more solid footing and avoid taking drastic measures that will negatively impact our region’s joint recovery.

Thank you very much for your consideration and support on this urgent matter. We appreciate your leadership and continued efforts to keep the region healthy.


Tom Wright
President and CEO Regional Plan Association

Judith Albert
Former Executive Director, E2 (Environmental Entrepreneurs)

Murad Awawdeh
Executive Vice President of Advocacy & Strategy, New York Immigration Coalition

Andrew Bata
Head of North America Region, UITP International Association for Public Transport

Mary Bigelow
Chair of the Board of Directors, Greater New Haven Transit District

Sasha Blair-Goldensohn
Co-Founder Rise and Resist Elevator Action Group

Jonathan Bowles
Executive Director, Center for an Urban Future

Robert Briant Jr.
CEO, Utility & Transportation Contractors Association (UTCANJ)

Karen Burnaska
Coordinator, Transit for Connecticut

Tom Byrne
Managing Director, Byrne Asset Management LLC

Michael Cacace
Partner, Cacace, Tusch & Santagata

Anthony Cherolis
Transport Hartford Coordinator, Transport Hartford Academy at the Center for Latino Progress

Ric Clark
Chairman, Brookfield Properties

Jaqi Cohen
Campaign Director, Straphangers Campaign

Matthew Cohen
Vice President, Government Affairs and Communications, Long Island Association

Lisa Daglian
Executive Director, Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee to the MTA

William DeCarlo
National Vice President and National Legislative Director, Transportation Communications Union (TCU IAM)

Nick Dhimitri
National Vice President, External Affairs, Suffolk Construction

Daniel L. Doctoroff,
Chief Executive Officer, Sidewalk Labs

Mary Dowd
Chief of Staff, The Newark Museum of Art

Justin Elicker
Mayor, City of New Haven

Miguel Gamiño
EVP Enterprise Partnerships, Head of Global Cities, Mastercard

Aaron Gill
Vice Chair, Hartford Planning & Zoning Commission

Amy Goldsmith
NJ State Director, Clean Water Action

Robert S. Goldsmith
Partner, Greenbaum Rowe Smith & Davis LLP

Thomas J. Grech
President & Chief Executive Officer, Queens Chamber of Commerce

Danny Harris
Executive Director, Transportation Alternatives

Ryan Harvey
Chief Operating Officer, The Ashforth Company

Doug Hausladen
Executive Director, New Haven Parking Authority

Emma Horst-Martz
Campaign Associate, NJPIRG

Brian Hughes
Managing Partner, Integrity Partners

Peter Iwanowicz
Executive Director, Environmental Advocates NY

Derek Jasmin
Co-Founder, Fare-Free Transit Coalition

David R. Jones
President and CEO, Community Service Society of New York

John Kaehny
Executive Director, ReInvent Albany

Ron Kamen
Chapter Director, E2 (Environmental Entrepreneurs)

Dave Kapell
Executive Director, Right Track for Long Island Coalition

Peter Kasabach
Executive Director, New Jersey Future

Rich Kassel
NY Chapter Director, E2 (Environmental Entrepreneurs)

Barbara E. Kauffman
Executive Vice President & COO, Newark Regional Business Partnership

Thomas Klin
Manager, GHD, Inc.

James Korein
Chairman, Omnispective Management Corporation

Philip Kuchma
President, Kuchma Corporation

Gary LaBarbera
President, Building & Construction Trades Council of Greater New York

Richard Lawton
Executive Director, New Jersey Sustainable Business Council

Anthony Marchetta
Principal, ALM Consulting Group

Eric McClure
Executive Director, StreetsPAC

David McCluskey
Former Deputy Speaker, CT House of Representatives

Courtenay Mercer, PP, AICP
Executive Director, Downtown New Jersey

Gary Morris
Senior Vice President, North Region Operations Manager, Jacobs

Doug O’Malley
Director, Environment New Jersey

Jose Ortiz, Jr.
Executive Director, New York City Employment & Training Coalition

Nicholas Peluso
National Representative, TCU/IAM

Betsy Plum
Executive Director, Riders Alliance

John D. Porcari
President, Advisory Services, WSP

Ed Potosnak
Executive Director, New Jersey League of Conservation Voters

Thomas Prendergast
Executive Vice President and Americas Transit Leader, AECOM

Ben Prosky
Executive Director, American Institute of Architects New York

Scott Rechler
Chairman and CEO, RXR Realty

Carey E. Redd, II, CAPP
Executive Director, New London Parking Authority

David Rich
Executive Director, Supportive Housing Works

Adam Roberts
Director of Policy, American Institute of Architects New York

Wendy Rowden
President, Building for the Arts

Steven Rubenstein
Chairman, Association for a Better New York

Jean Ryan
President, Disabled In Action of Metropolitan NY

Julie Samuels
Executive Director, Tech:NYC

Elliot G. Sander
President, Americas Region, Bombardier Transportation

Carlo A. Scissura, Esq
President and CEO, New York Building Congress

Peggy Shepard
Executive Director, WE ACT For Environmental Action

Anthony Shorris
Former First Deputy Mayor, City of New York

Nick Sifuentes
Executive Director, Tri-State Transportation Campaign

Anthony Simon
General Chairman Transportation Division, Sheet Metal Air Rail Transportation Union

David Siscovick, MD, MPH,
Senior Research Scientist, The New York Academy of Medicine

McGregor Smyth
Executive Director, New York Lawyers for the Public Interest

Susan L. Solomon
Chief Executive Officer, The New York Stem Cell Foundation Research Institute

Michael Sweeney, P.E.
Executive Vice President / Eastern U.S. President, HNTB Corporation

Julie Tighe
President, New York League of Conservation Voters

Jeff Tittle
Director, NJ Sierra Club

Mary Tomolonius
Executive Director, CT Association for Community Transportation

Jessica Walker
President and CEO, Manhattan Chamber of Commerce

Robert Wessels
Executive Director, General Contractors Association of New York

James Whelan
President, Real Estate Board of New York

Lyle Wray
Executive Director, CRCOG, Capital Region Council of Governments